Tag Archives: ellie goulding

Calvin Harris new album, 18 Months, video preview


Calvin Harris new album 18 Months due out October 30th

18 Months on iTunes: http://smarturl.it/CH18MonthsDLX

The track listing for 18 MONTHS is:
1. Green Valley
2. Bounce (feat. Kelis) (***)
3. Feel So Close (***)
4. We Found Love (feat. Rihanna) (***)
5. We’ll Be Coming Back (feat. Example) (***)
6. Mansion
7. Iron w/ Nicky Romero
8. I Need Your Love (feat. Ellie Goulding) (***)
9. Drinking From The Bottle (feat. Tinie Tempah)
10. Sweet Nothing (feat. Florence Welch) (***)
11. School
12. Here 2 China w/ Dillon Francis (feat. Dizzee Rascal)
13. Let’s Go (feat. Ne-Yo) (***)
14. Awooga
15. Thinking About You (feat. Ayah)

(***) = Available Now


Ellie Goulding’s new album, Halcyon, out October 9th, 2012

Article first published as Music Review: Ellie Goulding – Halcyon on Blogcritics.

Click here to LIKE WTF Music Review on Facebook!

With her hit single, “Lights,” Ellie Goulding made a name for herself, and the United States quickly fell in love with her. Her name was plastered everywhere as “Lights” became one of the most covered songs of the year, being remixed by DJs such as Kap Slap, Max Gordon, and the most popular, Bassnectar. Since “Lights,” Ellie Goulding has had many other hits to keep her popularity including “Starry Eyed” and her cover of Elton John’s “Your Song.” Now, over a year past the release date for her first album, Lights, Goulding is releasing her second album, Halcyon, on October 9, and listeners can expect that same amazing sound they are familiar with.

Halcyon is full of electronic sounds, beautiful harmonies, and amazing vocals. It’s hard to choose the must-listen songs because, in all honesty, every song is a must-listen. The first single from Halcyon, “Anything Could Happen,” features a very upbeat sound, which is especially apparent in the chorus, where the electronic rhythm takes over. In addition, the broad range of vocal levels that Goulding expresses is partnered with exceptional harmonies. “Anything Could Happen” does a great job for setting the stage for many of the songs on the album such as “Hanging On,” “Figure 8,” and “Don’t Say a Word.”

People might most be familiar with “Hanging On” from the single that Goulding partnered with Tinie Tempah on, which can be found on the deluxe edition of the album; however, the version on Halcyon is just as amazing. The song starts with an increasing electronic beat accompanied by high-pitch vocals. When the beat drops at the chorus, the music seems to overcome the vocals before leveling out and finding equilibrium. Unlike anticipated, the beat does not remain constant throughout the song, but instead becomes heavier toward the end of the song.

“Figure 8” starts off suspenseful, beginning as if the vocals are stirring up the beat – they almost resemble a chant. Then, the chorus picks up the overall feel of the song with a very strong piano beat lingering in the background, as if someone was pounding the keys with all of his or her might. However, what brings about that familiar Goulding sound is the calm and steady electronic beat that builds up throughout the entire song, from beginning to end.

Another song with a very suspenseful beginning is “Don’t Say a Word.” The song starts off with a very slow beginning: a haunting feel that allows us to hear the range of Goulding’s vocals. The song gives us a feel for the deeper, darker side of Goulding’s sound. Ultimately, “Don’t Say A Word” moves into a very electronic beat, similar to “Figure 8,” while still maintaining the vocals that are unique to it.

On another note, Halcyon also features songs on a completely different spectrum. “My Blood” is an absolute must-listen. At the start of the song, for the first verse, the vocals almost do not even resemble Goulding; it definitely provides a new, unexpected sound from her. No fear, however, because the chorus is the same familiar voice that we expect from her. In addition, the song features extremely fantastic harmony and piano accompaniment. I’m not sure why, but this song truly makes me want to dance in the rain.

A personal favorite, “Explosions” really confuses you because you expect something completely different due to the title of the song, but instead you’re surprised in a good way. This song has so much going on and so much packed into four minutes. “Explosions” features a very choir-like sounding harmony, strings rather than an electric beat, a piano that joins the strings with a very fast paced and repetitive sound, and finally percussion that joins in with a very steady and soft beat. The background music almost seems to tell a story, truly expressing the meaning of the song.

Finally, the title song, “Halcyon,” features a calm, steady beginning beat with speedy lyrics and beautiful harmonies. Then, the chorus begins, truly separating itself from the rest of the song. What also stands out is the post-chorus sound, which is filled with fade-ins and fade-outs that just bring more attention to her amazing vocals.

Overall, Halcyon will just continue to make fans fall in love with Ellie Goulding. She maintains her unique vocals throughout the entire album. In addition, she continues to show her electronic side while introducing a new, deeper side of her vocals. Simply put, Halcyon is a must-listen album.

Dance Party Friday


(I understand that the link will not play from this site, please click through to YouTube until I find a new copy of the video. Sorry for the inconvenience. It’s worth it though.)

Kap Slap – E.T. Feels Starry Eyed (Dubstep Mashup ft. Modestep, NiT GriT and Feed Me)

Kap Slap, where did you come from? Nine times out of ten, I hate remixes and mash-ups. Normally, I find absolutely nothing impressive about somebody putting other people’s music together. Not this time though. Kap Slap does an amazing job of combining ten different songs into one. Originally, it caught my eye because it because it starts off with two of my favorite songs: “Starry Eyed” by Ellie Goulding and “E.T.” by Katy Perry. Eventually, a total of ten songs are mashed into one song:

1) Starry Eyed – Ellie Goulding
2) Hold On – Bill Posters
3) E.T. – Katy Perry
4) Feel Good – Modestep
5) Prituri Se Planinata (NiT GriT Remix) – Stellamara
6) Oro Mo Bhaidin (Sleepyhead Sample) – Mary O’Hara
7) Walking On A Dream – Empire Of The Sun
8) Look At Me Now – Chris Brown
9) Choose Me – Xilent
10) Cloudburn – Feed Me

Kap Slap does a great job of combining different styles into one song. Nothing sounds choppy or thrown into the song. He does a great job making sure the transition from one song to another flows well. Fifty-two seconds into the song, the beat picks up, but drops back down to introduce “Walking on a Dream” by  Empire of the Sun aside “Look at Me Now” by Chris Brown. Then, two minutes into the song, Kap Slap successfully lays down a dubstep feel that holds for the remainder of the song.

Not just this song is impressive though. Kap Slap also does amazing mashups with Deadmau5, Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Ke$ha, Paradiso Girls, Kanye West, and plenty of others. All of his mashups are receiving about 20,000 views on YouTube and he’s continuing to grow. His mashups scream creativity.

Best part of the whole song? You can download it for free: http://www.kapslap.com