My reaction to the “The One That Got Away” music video was actually shock.

Standard

Well, I didn’t think it was possible to spend five hours straight watching Katy Perry videos on YouTube, but somehow I managed to do it yesterday. I think I was just a little too excited for today. Some people are celebrating today because it’s 11-11-11 (November 11, 2011) or maybe because it’s Veteran’s Day (a big thank you to all the Veterans), but I’m celebrating the release of Katy Perry’s “The One That Got Away” music video.

In just 4 weeks, the song has jumped to number 18 on Billboard’s Hot 100 list. When you look at that fact, you realize that Michael Jackson really does have some competition. It was unsure whether or not Katy Perry would be able to get her sixth number 1 single and break the Hot 100 record, but I think that “The One That Got Away” is proving she’s capable of anything.

I couldn’t think of a better place to debut this video than on Ellen DeGeneres by the way. It’s not even fair to have two funny women on the same show at one time. Actually though, to be honest, I was too busy watching “He’s Just Not That Into You” with some fun kids this afternoon to see Katy on Ellen’s show, and it didn’t occur to me until now that I could have asked my parents to record it since I’m going home. I’m more than disappointed in myself, but I’ll find another way to watch it. Trust me. The Katy Perry obsession I have will not let me survive without watching it.

So, let’s get to the actual review instead of me blabbing about my Friday agenda and obsession. Two thoughts went through my head: this is new and HOLY CRAP. Let me explain those two reactions. The first, “this is new,” refers to the fact that is a completely different side of Katy Perry that hasn’t ever really been exposed. When I think of Katy Perry, I think of (honestly) bunnies, rainbows, and candy. Of those three things, the rainbows and candy make sense, but I’m not quite sure why bunnies come to mind… if someone has an explanation for that, I’m open to thoughts.

It’s not entirely the first time that this side of Katy Perry has been revealed. The music video for “E.T.” strayed away from the bunnies, rainbows, and candy, but in reality, it was still crazy and out of the ordinary. Then we have my personal favorite, “Firework,” which got really serious, but Katy Perry still looked beautiful and there were still fireworks popping out of everyone’s chest; in addition, every story had a happy ending.

So, by “this is new,” I mean that we see for the first time a depressing story coming from Katy Perry. For the first time, I didn’t want to smile and jump around while listening to Katy. There’s black hair (and white hair), grunge, awesome American flag pants, sad events, and deep emotions that make you want to jump through the screen and hug her (wait, well, every time I see a video of her I want to jump through and hug her).

I want to clarify that this a good “new.” Katy Perry definitely CAN act. It’s impressive. I love music videos that have a real story line and when I can actually empathize with the characters, it makes it even more enjoyable and easier to follow along. That’s exactly what happens in the music video.

The second thought, “HOLY CRAP,” simply comes from when I saw the end of the music video and did not expect what happened to happen. That’s the only explanation I have to that reaction.

Overall, Katy continues to impress me. This is the music video that will push her up another seventeen spots to number 1 on Billboard’s Hot 100. In all truth, if “The One That Got Away” doesn’t make it to number 1 and if Katy Perry doesn’t beat the Billboard Hot 100 record, I’m going to be extremely shocked.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: I’m on a YACHT. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  2. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

