Remember that time I met Florence Welch? “Shake it Out” original song and Benny Benassi remix.

Standard

Remember that time I met Florence Welch, and she signed my arm, and she spoke to me, and I cried? Right, you probably don’t, but I was once taught in school to open each paper with an attention grabber so I decided to make any Florence + the Machine fans jealous before this post.

So, Florence + the Machine’s new album Ceremonials is being released on October 31st… oh, but only in the United Kingdom. That’s fine though because recently I registered for an iTunes account with a fake address in the UK and am currently trying to figure out where to buy my iTunes gift card in euros. No one can steal my idea… You know what’s really impressive (or pathetic as you might see it) about my dedication to get the album on October 31st? Ceremonials will actually be released in the US the next day… I just cannot wait that long.

The second single from what is soon to be my favorite album ever: “Shake it Out”

As with every other song that Florence + the Machine has released, “Shake it Out” is powerful, mystical, and poignant. This song brings shivers to my spine and almost made me belt out singing in the middle of the union. You can’t listen to this song without being moved by “Shake it Out” as it’s all about leaving behind every worry or bad time: “I am done with my graceless heart so tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart.” Besides the song’s beautiful meaning and Florence’s goddess-like voice, we also have the combination of The Machine, which in this case is the steady yet strong beat of the drums, a mesmerizing church organ, and exciting bells and tambourines.I always like to read other people’s reviews of songs, albums, and artists before I post mine (everyone gets curious), and The Prophet Blog says it best: this song is like Katy Perry’s “Firework” in that it’s an anthem. Now, I’m not sure if I like that comparison because it’s true or because it combines Katy Perry and Florence + the Machine which might just be the greatest thing in the world to me.

Florence Welch says she writes her best when she’s drunk. All I have to say is that when Flo wrote this song, she must have been on the verge of detox because it’s that good.

On another note, there are two people that immediately come to my mind when think of Florence + the Machine: one, whom some of you knew and remember, will always be associated with the good song “Dog Days are Over,”and the other a friend with an insanely good taste in music (and a desire to be the biggest twitter attention whore that Wisconsin has ever seen), Madison Wieland. I have to give her credit for finding the second installment of this post.

Thus, the Benny Benassi remix of Florence + the Machine’s “Shake it Out”

Until about thirty seconds into the song, you would not even recognize that this was a remix of a Florence + the Machine. Then, all of the sudden drops this subtle hint that you really have to listen to in order to recognize as “Shake it Out.” Of course, when Florence Welch starts singing, you realize you’re in heaven. Usually when DJs speed up the vocals of artists in their remixes, I get really annoyed because it never seems to do the artist justice; however, Benny Benassi does a great job of keeping me listening, while still being impressed. Benassi’s beat seems to replace the part of The Machine’s drums in the original song, adding a more electronic rhythm. I also applaud Benassi when he silences the beat to mix together three different versions of Florence Welch’s voice – very artistic. What I like most about Benassi’s remix is that it’s not overdone; he actually finds such various ways to make his beats compliment Welch’s voice and The Machine’s music. Whereas I could have danced my heart out to Florence + the Machine’s “Shake it Out” before, with the addition of Benny Benassi, everyone else can too.

4 responses »

  1. It is little doubt that this is the best singer in the world! What makes a singer isn’t their vibe, it’s their voice! I don’t like when people judge singers on things that just aren’t that important. Remember, they are entertainers, not presidents! Let them do their thing and enjoy the music!

  2. Pingback: Thank you Liverpool Marriott for giving me Florence + the Machine. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  3. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

