Songs of Summer 2011

Standard

Not that magazines know anything about music, but I did read two tabloid magazines while getting my haircut – US and what may be People – that included short articles on the “Songs of Summer.” The two song lists were extremely similar, one a little longer than the other, but I tend to like US list better.

US Top 5 Summer Jams:

1. Katy Perry “Last Friday Night”

This is more like my song of 2011 – I will be one of the few people still listening to it, obsessively, in December… and then still in December 2012. By far, the biggest summer hit of 2011. You can’t even argue me on that because it’s there in the facts. It spawned a highly popular fictional character, Kathy Beth Terry. It introduced a music video starring Rebecca Black (my girl) and Kenny G. It became number one on Billboard’s Hot 100, the fifth song on Teenage Dream to reach number one, and caused Katy Perry (my idol) to make history as she became the first female to have five singles from one album reach the number one spot on Billboard’s Hot 100, tying Michael Jackson. I dare you to argue that.

2. LMFAO – “Party Rock Anthem”

I’m not overly impressed with this song, but I will admit its extraordinary relevance to summer and its huge popularity that got it so much radio play. Do not get me wrong, I listened to the song as much as anyone else and I got just as excited when it came on the radio – there just isn’t anything overly spectacular or unique about it… except when giant hamsters are dancing to it on television.

3. Lady Gaga – “Hair”

Really, you chose “Hair” as a summer song? How about Gaga’s “Edge of Glory” which received way more radio-play time than any other Gaga song throughout the summer. I don’t even think I’ve ever heard “Hair” played on the radio and that’s probably because it only has an approximately 25% approval rating on iTunes and is among one of the least rated songs on her album. WTF, US? Horrible choice as a summer song of 2011 because it wasn’t played during the 2011 summer. Really, where was the magazine editor that should have seen this song on the list and reacted with a, “WTF, when did this ever play this summer?”

4. Pitbull – “Give Me Everything”

Oh, come on. Have we not heard enough of this song? I haven’t had the opportunity to listen to the radio in a while, so let me ask, is it still being played 5 times every hour? I will admit this was a huge summer song; I would argue it was the second biggest summer hit – so why is it number four? Seriously, who wrote this article?

5. Britney Spears – “I Wanna Go”

Absolutely! Great summer hit! In fact, the only thing that bothered me about this song was that it didn’t get bigger sooner. I hated every time Kiss FM played this song and introduced it as “New Britney.” Um, no, it’s not “New Britney” in August if the album was released on March 29, and it’s certainly not “New Britney” if it’s the 45th time you’ve played the song and you’re still announcing it as new. The song, however, is fantastic. Extremely hard to drive to though because all I ever wanted to do was pull over to the side of the road and have a dance party for the duration of the song.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

