Live Coverage of the 2011 VMAs

Standard

That’s it – I’m done. Thanks for joining me!

Click here to like WTF Music Review on Facebook!

The VMAs are here! Specifically, in approximately 6 hours from when I type this sentence. They haven’t started yet so neither has the live coverage, logically. Check back here for live updating of VMA winners, performance reviews, and coverage of all those awkward, embarrassing, or stupid moments!

In the meantime, read my picks or participate in this poll:

(Update 10:23pm Central)

Video of the Year = Katy Perry “Firework”

Well, I wanted to Katy Perry’s “Firework” to win ever since the moment it was nominated… and IT DID! The VMAs definitely got it right this time and wrong with the other eight she didn’t win. “Firework” deserved an award – it’s amazing, it’s meaningful, and it’s a huge hit. The video itself is absolutely fantastic and encouraging. Katy Perry is also potentially the nicest and funniest female artist as of right now and so deserving of this award. Congratulations, Katy. This song is perfect and means so much to me. Also… how adorable at the end of her speech when she got all sweet and said, “And last, but not least, my husband.”

(Update 10:12pm Central)

Bruno Mars Performance Review

Amy Winehouse was one of the most talented artists to ever come to our music industry and she was an extreme loss this year. Russell Brand did a great job honoring her. I’m extremely happy that Amy Winehouse was also honored by a cover of her song “Valerie” by Bruno Mars. His voice does her justice. He, along with his band and backup singers, put on a great performance, including a sing along to the words “Amy,” “We love you baby,” and “We’ll miss you baby.” It was so nice to see everyone singing along in the audience – she clearly had a profound effect on everyone.

(Update 9:58pm Central)

Best Female Video = Lady Gaga “Born This Way”

I’ll be honest, I had written Katy Perry and almost cried when I had to erase it and replace it with Lady Gaga. Seriously, the video was not that good and she’s still dressed as a man and pretending that she’s not Lady Gaga. WTF? I’m so confused as to who suggested her outfit for the night. I definitely still think that Katy Perry should have won still. I’ll let this slide though. At least it went to Lady Gaga who has had more than one huge hit and much success.

(Update 9:42pm Central)

Best New Artist = Tyler, The Creator “Yonkers”

Who is this guy? He’s up for Video of the Year, too, and according to my poll, he’s favored to win. I’ve never even heard of this song except for the one time I listened to it while I was making my picks for VMA winners. All I have to say is that when I heard it, I immediately stopped it because I thought the song and video sucked that much. Extremely disappointed. You all suck at voting.

(Update 9:31pm Central)

Britney Spears Tribute Performance

Definitely different than I expected since rumors of performances by Janet Jackson, Katy Perry, Demi Lovato, and more were rumored. Approximately 50 amazing dancers dressed in every well-known outfit that Britney Spears has ever worn in a music video.The dancing was amazing along with the flashbacks to all of Brit’s music videos. A tribute to Brit was amazing, but she’s still around and still getting bigger so we’ll obviously need another tribute soon. No one is more deserving for this than Britney though.

As for accepting her award, I’m extremely happy that was a fake kiss with Lady Gaga – not necessary to repeat Madonna and Britney.

(Update 9:19pm Central)

Chris Brown Performance Review

As much as I don’t like Chris Brown, his performance was unique, clever, and impressive. Although he didn’t really sing, he brought back older songs with a new twist including Nirvana, and some awesome dance moves. In addition, there were people flying in the air and dancing. Chris Brown’s performance was focused more on beats and dance more than singing which is completely fine with me – sometimes that’s all you need. Overall, I was very impressed with Chris Brown’s performance at the 2011 VMAs. I was expecting great dance moves and he didn’t prove me wrong.

(Update 9:14pm Central)

Best Male Video = Justin Bieber “U Smile”

How did that win? You’re kidding me. I’m embarrassed that you all voted for Justin Bieber over Eminem. The lyrics to the song you voted for are “Baby, whenever you smile, I smile.” I really never even thought that this video had a chance against the other nominees. I guess congratulations to Bieber and I now understand why he was so high on the Twitter Tracker, but in my opinion, he did not deserve this award.

(Update 9:02pm Central)

Adele Performance Review

That awkward moment when Katy Perry introduces Adele as a nominee for Video of the Year and she’s nominated too… However, related to Adele’s performance – oh my god amazing. Granted, Adele isn’t the most entertaining performer of the VMAs because she just stands there and sometimes moves her hands, by far she is the one with the best vocal performance. I have to thank her for not performing “Rolling in the Deep” because I wouldn’t have been as impressed with her playing her overplayed hit. With this performance, she continued to completely outshine herself; however, I still can’t root for her over Katy Perry for Video of the Year.

(Update 8:53pm Central)

Pitbull/Ne-Yo Performance Review

This is so far my favorite performance of the VMAs. They sounded really good! Ne-Yo and Pitbull’s vocals were both there, now let’s just hope that they were actually singing and not lip-syncing. Ne-Yo was also working up some really good dance moves throughout that performance as he twisted and turned around stage. The background dancers also caught my eye as they stayed true to their precise choreography. Then, finally, Pitbull’s bright red pants and clean, white jacket kept my eyes on the screen.

(Update 8:47pm Central)

Best Collaboration Video = Katy Perry feat Kanye West “E.T.”

I just screamed in my mind. I have never been so excited to see Katy Perry win an award. She’s so excited, too. Congratulations to Katy for her first moonman and screw you to Kanye, who just stood there and said “I have more.” In addition, she’s hilarious as she got on stage and said to Kanye, “This is the part where you interrupt me.” It’s all of the enthusiasm and humor she had in her speech that makes me so happy she won. Also, the video clearly took a lot of effort from Katy, Kanye, and the editing department. It’s a great video with great editing and special effects.

(Update 8:40pm Central)

Best Hip-Hop Video = Nicki Minaj “Super Bass”

I didn’t really have a preference for this category going into the VMAs because I didn’t like any of them. My first reaction to the winner was “OH MY GOD” and not because of the winner, but because of the thought, “WHAT THE F*CK IS NICKI MINAJ WEARING?” You can’t beat Lady Gaga; she created the whole #whatwillgagawear sensation so back off Nicki Minaj. However, I will react to the award as well. The video never made impressed me, but the song has been a recent hit so I understand why many people have voted for it. At least it has an addicting chorus.

(Update 8:29pm Central)

Best Rock Video = Foo Fighters “Walk”

I think this might be one of the few videos nominated that actually deserves a VMA. The video has plot and premise and still focuses on the music. Then, in addition, the Foo Fighters are obviously one of the best rock bands to come to this generation. However, the speech was a little too repetitive – not of itself, but of every other award speech ever. In the future, I ask celebrities to keep us entertained in speeches.

(Update 8:20pm Central)

Best Pop Video = Britney Spears “Til’ the World Ends”

Congratulations Britney Spears!!! To have someone who has been in the music industry for this long and been so extremely successful, it’s amazing to witness her shock and emotion for winning this award. I’m extremely happy to know that Spears took this award. She deserves it. Brit is just further showing us that she’s here to stay and anyone that doubted her throughout any troubles she went through are just stupid (that’s my nice way of putting it). As she accepted her award, she was in tears and thanked her little boys – so deserving.

(Update: 8:04pm Central)

Lady Gaga Performance Review

So, #whatwillgagawear was the most popular thing trending on Twitter for quite some time leading up to the VMAs. Let’s change that to #wtfisgagawearing now. I was expecting such a better opening performance from Lady Gaga, anyone else? She’s dressed like a man and the dancing is sub-par. If you watched the reactions of the audience throughout that performance, you’ll see that no one, except Katy Perry (and I’m pretty sure that’s because she might be easily amused), had a positive reaction … and what might be Jay Z was on his phone. The singing does sound quite impressive; I’ll give it that much. Overall, that performance was too masculine and weird for her.

(Update: 7:49pm Central)
Awards have started to be distributed and early winners are already disappointing me and my picks.

Best Video With a Message = Lady Gaga “Born This Way”

Best Art Direction = Adele “Rolling in the Deep”

Best Editing = Adele “Rolling in the Deep”

Best Cinematography = Adele “Rolling in the Deep”

Best Choreography = Beyonce “Run the World (Girls)”

Best Special Effects = Katy Perry feat. Kanye West “E.T.”

Well, Best Video With a Message is extremely disappointing, only to me personally. Gaga did put out a great song that gathered a lot of attention and it had a great meaning. “Firework” by Katy Perry was my graduation song because it spoke to my family about some things I went through in my last year of high school, so I guess I had a huge bias towards it and was really pulling for it to win. Also, my love and obsession for Katy Perry doesn’t help. I guess I still understand how Gaga took this award. Adele so far is stealing away the VMAs – WTF? Let’s see how many she gets throughout the night. Lastly, of course I’m ecstatic that Katy Perry took her first moonman with Best Special Effects. 1 for 10 so far. Let’s follow that.

(Update: 6:23pm Central)
For the 2011 awards show, MTV has created the “Twitter Tracker” to keep track of which celebrities are tweeted about the most before and throughout show. In addition, when the show starts, their Twitter Tracker will follow each celebrity’s tweet from their seat and viewer’s favorite photos from the show. Take a look at the Top 10 most tweeted about celebrities though and realize what’s wrong with it.
1. Joe Jonas
2. Justin Bieber
3. Miley Cyrus
4. Lady Gaga
5. Jersey Shore
6. Chris Brown
7. Selena Gomez
8. Katy Perry
9. Adele
10. Drake
Ok, so the first person isn’t even nominated for an award, so logically we should tweet about them. He’s just presenting an award and his recent release didn’t even get much publicity – no need to give him so much attention. Bieber is up for one award against Eminem and Kanye West – he definitely won’t even win. Miley Cyrus… really? She’s not presenting, performing, or receiving an award. I’m not quite sure how she got to #3 most tweeted about. Jersey Shore, I understand because they have a new special episode tonight. Lady Gaga, Chris Brown, Adele, and Selena Gomez make complete sense, as does Katy Perry; however, Perry was nominated for 10 awards – how is she not higher? Think about this while you tweet.
[Correcting myself – I did not realize that Miley was presenting an award so I retract my “not presenting” statement.]

Check back here for live updating of VMA winners, performance reviews, and coverage of all those awkward, embarrassing, or stupid moments!

2 responses »

  1. Appreciate your taking the time to share with you this, I feel strongly about it and love learning read more about this topic. When possible, as you gain expertise, can you mind updating your blog site with extra information? It is extremely used by me.

  2. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

