I will create a fake UK address to get Florence’s new album on Nov. 7

Standard

Click here to LIKE WTF Music Review on Facebook!

Florence + The Machine. “What the Water Gave Me.” Released: August 23, 2011.

I woke up on August 23, 2011, in pain from my recent wisdom tooth extraction (and yes, I felt it necessary to make you aware of that fact), to a surprise release of “What The Water Gave Me” from Florence + the Machine. Maybe it wasn’t a surprise to the lucky SOBs in the United Kingdom who get to hear Florence + the Machine weeks before the unlucky citizens of the United States, but it was to me.

“What The Water Gave Me” is literally Florence + the Machine’s last album, Lungs, on ecstasy. If you take all the lose ends of Lungs and put them together, you get “What The Water Gave Me.” Florence Welch just sounds more powerful and confident in this song, which is something I didn’t think would ever be possible. I think Welch knew she surpassed Lungs because this song is about one minute longer than any other song released on Lungs or Lungs – The B Side.

The lyrics will stun you. Just like any good Florence song, it has alliteration, metaphors, and allusions. You don’t really notice those things by listening to the song, but they’re there – I promise. The chorus alone sent shivers down my spine: “Lay me down. Let the only sound be the overflow. Pockets full of stone, lay me down. Let the only sound be the overflow.” In addition, The Machine will cause you to drop  your jaw in awe. The tunes of a beautiful organ definitely added to this amazing song.

While it’s very different than the group’s biggest hit, “Dog Days are Over,” it’s still Florence Welch and her machine. She never ceases to surprise her fans and I can’t wait to see what’s to come with the second album, releasing in the UK on November 7th. That’s also the date that my address will change and I will switch to the UK iTunes store…

Also, for true Florence fans, there is an official video released by Florence, but due to YouTube’s ridiculous embedding restrictions, I couldn’t post it on my blog.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Remember that time I met Florence Welch? “Shake it Out” original song and Benny Benassi remix. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  2. Pingback: Thank you Liverpool Marriott for giving me Florence + the Machine. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  3. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

