Sunday Special: Billboard’s Hot 100 – Deserving?

Standard

If you like this, please like WTF Music Review on facebook using the link on the right!

Feel free to watch the rest of this video from YouTube user BillboardGoddess, but the part I’m addressing starts at 7:10 and covers the Top 10 of Billboard’s Hot 100 countdown. This is a new segment that I plan to cover each Sunday: the Hot 100 – are we happy to see it so high or are we disappointed that it’s climbed its way to the top?

10. “Lighters” – Bad Meets Evil ft. Bruno Mars

I always enjoy hearing Bruno Mars’s voice; he has a very unique voice that was a surprisingly beneficial addition to this generation’s music. However, I’m happy to hear him as a featured artist in this song rather than a solo artist in his own song. As always, Eminem busts out raps better than any white man I’ve ever heard. I mean no offense to any race, but white men in the 2000s haven’t really shown that they can successfully rap. Then you hear, Royce da 5’9″ throw down a verse containing seemingly popular lyrics amongst raps these days: “What goes up must come down.” A little cliché, but Royce da 5’9″ has a somewhat soft voice that makes it acceptable. The only complaint I have with this song is the fact that this man thinks Royce da 5’9″ is a cool name.
Overall, thumbs up/glad to see it working its way to the top.

9. “Good Life” – OneRepublic

First, always listen to this original version rather than the remix version with B.o.B. No offense to him, but OneRepublic is just one of those bands that should stick with its musical genre rather than expand to rap. Second, I’m sad to see this moving down the list. The radio played it just enough to not make me hate it and OneRepublic created a good enough song to make me love it. It’s got a background whistle that I wish I could whistle along with, but unfortunately I never learned how to whistle, and Ryan Tedder’s beautiful man voice that I love to sing along with. In addition, it’s got a realistic message because this is the good life so live it.
Overall, thumbs up/sad to see it working its way off the list.

8. “Edge of Glory” – Lady GaGa

Let me admit that Lady GaGa does scare me, but she puts out some pretty addicting music. This song may be working its way off the Billboard list, but I don’t see its fame ending anytime soon – it will have quite the life span in clubs and remixes. Lady GaGa always successfully releases the perfect dance songs and “Edge of Glory” is no different. It’s a great pop song with a spontaneous beat and not-annoying vocals so don’t expect to see it disappear despite Billboard’s list.
Overall, thumbs up/moving off the radio and into clubs.

7. “Tonight Tonight” – Hot Chelle Rae 

I’m fortunate enough to see Hot Chelle Rae live in just a week so hopefully I’ll have more to say about them then, but for now, they definitely impressed me with their debut song. I always enjoy hearing an actual alternative band make it big, and I suppose Hot Chelle Rae has a somewhat pop feel to them, but it’s as alternative as the Hot 100 list will get during summer. This song screams summer with both the upbeat rhythm it gives and the lyrics such as, “There’s a party on the rooftop, top of the world” and “Just don’t stop, let’s keep the beat bumpin’.” I definitely expect to see more than a one-hit-wonder from these guys.
Overall, thumbs up/will stick around until the end of summer.

6. “How to Love” – Lil Wayne

For me, this is disappointing for Lil Wayne. Maybe it’s my inability to really sit down and listen to what is now considered rap, but it also might be that I remember the Lil Wayne that introduced “Lollipop” and “A Milli,” two songs with low beats and fast lyrics. I just don’t think that summer was the right time for Lil Wayne to release a slow, sappy love song. Apparently many disagree with me on this because it’s worked its way to number six on Billboard’s Hot 100, but I’m entitled to my opinion. I always expect more out of bad boy Lil Wayne.
Overall, thumbs down/skip it when it plays on the radio.

5. “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele

If you’ve read my past posts, you’ll know that I think this song is way too overplayed; that’s why I am glad to see it working its way down the list and, hopefully soon, off the radio. I love Adele, don’t get me wrong. She’s amazingly talented and has an absolutely beautiful voice. “Rolling in the Deep” is magnificent and Adele’s vocals continue to surprise me, but it’s time for another one of her songs to be recognized. Let “Rumour Has It” work its way up.
Overall, thumbs up/but get it off the radio.

4. “Super Bass” – Nicki Minaj

The only thing addicting about this song is the repeated vocals and corresponding rhythm of “boom ba boom boom bass.” I’m not even sure if those are the correct words, but really, they aren’t words to begin with. Nicki Minaj can do a decent accompaniment or short verse in someone else’s song, but I don’t think she has enough talent to actually have a solo career. I apologize if you disagree with me, but I hear nothing truly unique about this song.
Overall, thumbs down/missing the creativity.

3. “Give Me Everything” – Pitbull ft. Ne-Yo, Afrojack, and Nayer

Save this brilliant song by taking it off this list and limiting its play on the radio. I truly believe this song is great and deserved all the attention it got, but it’s getting overplayed. I’m glad to see it climbing down the list because now it can get its rest. Let the clubs and remixes play it from now on where its true purpose can be served. It’s a song that makes you want to dance with its upbeat rhythm and fast, easily-heard lyrics.
Overall, thumbs up/but overplayed on the radio.

2. “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)” – Katy Perry

I admit that my Katy Perry bias will get in the way of this review once again. This song is perfect for summer and perfect for the Billboard Hot 100. I’ll be seriously shocked if it does not reach number one. Katy Perry worked her way up from a home that didn’t approve of MTV (not like that would have an effect because they don’t actually play music) and created songs that include lyrics such as, “And we took too many shots. Think we kissed, but I forgot.” If you’re like my friends and I, this song became the 2011 Summer Anthem.
Overall, thumbs up/let it peak at the top.

1. “Party Rock Anthem” – LMFAO ft. Lauren Bennett and GoonRock

I’m proud to see LMFAO in the number one spot. This song has been around for a few months now and it’s got just enough bass and upbeat to make it popular. It’s more techno or dubstep feel made it reach many different types of music lovers and the radio just barely stayed away from the overplay limit so that it didn’t annoy everyone that heard it. I can’t really predict much for this song – will it stay at the top for a few more weeks or it will quickly make its descent?
Overall, thumbs up.

6 responses »

  1. Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to know so much about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you could do with a few % to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  2. Pingback: Tonight, Tonight with Hot Chelle Rae, The Downtown Fiction who just wanted some rum, and We The Kings who sing about the birds and the bees. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  3. Pingback: Katy Perry makes history with “Last Friday Night” « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

  4. Can I simply say what a reduction to search out someone who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know learn how to convey an issue to gentle and make it important. Extra individuals need to read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre not more standard because you positively have the gift.

  5. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thanks Nonetheless I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting identical rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  6. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

