That awkward moment when the radio stations are all playing the same song.

Standard

When I get in my car and realize I forgot to bring my iPod, I prepare myself for the worst ride of my life. There’s only 2 radio stations and 2 Sirius stations I will listen to and they’re always playing the same song. It’s either due to a lack of communication amongst stations because it seems that when one song ends, it starts playing on the other station, or the public keeps requesting the same song constantly. Overplaying on the radio kills songs.

The TOP 5 MOST OVERPLAYED SONGS OF SUMMER 2011:

1. 

“Give Me Everything” – Pitbull ft. Ne-Yo, Afrojack, Nayer

This song was really good… the first fifty times I heard it; however, after hearing it fifty times a day, I’m getting less impressed. It’s definitely a summer song so I understand why it’s being played, but it’s too much. However, Pitbull has once again outdone himself with this song. The mixture of Afrojack’s beats, Pitbull’s raps, and Ne-Yo’s vocals makes this song stand out. It has definitely become the dance anthem of Summer 2011.

2.

“The Show Goes On” – Lupe Fiasco

This song’s popularity needs to die. I loved this song until I heard it on four different radio/satellite radio stations at the same time. When it first came to the radio, it caught the attention of everyone. It had a constant, addicting beat, and Lupe’s vocals showed the positive light of hip-hop. However, its overwhelming similarities to Modest Mouse’s “Float On” and its overplaying on the radio has caused it go to my “Never Play Again” playlist.

3.

“Rolling in the Deep” – Adele

Adele has an amazingly unique voice. I really could listen to her all day. Except when people say the phrase “I could listen to it all day,” they don’t really mean all day; however, I think the radio stations take the saying literally. Adele is one of those artists that would be better appreciated as a smaller artist. Her entire album should be heard, not just this one song, because Adele’s voice is engaging and addictive. You can’t compare her to anything else.

4.

“Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)” – Katy Perry

This one I have absolutely no problem listening to all day and it’s the only song that I wouldn’t get annoyed of if I heard it on four different radio stations at the same time. I might be alone on that though. Everything about this song – the rhythm, the tone, the lyrics, and the video – screams summer. It is the perfect amount of Katy Perry personality to make a great song. However, the radio needs to calm down on its overplaying unless they want to ruin the excitement that people get when they hear it.

5.

“If I Die Young” – The Band Perry

This is another one of the songs that has been so overplayed that I cringe when I hear it. First, I didn’t think there was anything too special about it in the first place. Second, I think it was #20, #15, #4, and #2 on Sirius’ 20 on 20 all in one day. Kimberly does have nice vocals and I hope that they have another successful song that the radio doesn’t brutally destroy.

3 responses »

  1. I totally agree with you on this! Music is supposed to move us and if you are getting moved 12 times a day by any particular song, it will begin to desensitize you! It’s a very sad situation when you really loved a song that the stations ran into the ground.

  2. Exactly! There are so many songs that once brought joy to my ears that I now immediately skip when they play on my iPod. I’m sure artists love their success and that so many people enjoy hearing their songs, but some artists would be much better appreciated if they weren’t played on the radio.

  3. Pingback: WTF’s Review of 2011′s Music Industry. Shockingly, it was positive. « Music Reviews from the Underskilled.

Leave a Reply

